Wide Reflections

A popular photographic trend, similar in tone to the “Camera of the month”, or “365” projects, has been “one camera, one lens”. As my widest Nikkor lens for 35mm full frame is a 28mm, and I do not shoot with it that often, I decided to get it onto the F3 and walk around Clinton, MA for a day. I do a lot of urban landscape, so thought that this lens might make for an interesting tool. It certainly did. The lighting was contrasty, and there were a lot of fair weather clouds. I scored a batch of beautiful cold stored Kodak Plus X online. Yes, it has the characteristic Kodak film curl, making scanning a challenge. But the grain and tone of this film is so gorgeous. Well, it is still a favorite, even though it’s gone forever. Also put on a yellow filter.

For Sale

For Sale

Window displays, and reflections, can be a lot of fun to photograph, and can give the light meter a lot to do. The heavily center weighted F3 metering system was more than up to it.

Notice how the buildings on the other side of the street got metered so nicely in the reflection.

Notice how the buildings on the other side of the street got metered so nicely in the reflection.

I have never fully bought into these types of self governed photographic assignments. They can be somewhat rigid, or restrictive, in nature. But, I did find that it improved how I see with wide angle. And it shattered my misconception of a wide angle lens solely as a “get everything in” sweeping landscape lens. It is capable of doing so much more.

Love how even the reflected bright blue sky of the day got properly metered and exposed.

Love how even the reflected bright blue sky of the day got properly metered and exposed.

img457

This might be my favorite shot from the roll.

I am posting these to my Flickr feed, along with some great urban landscape of an old building where a consignment occupies part of the space. But these reflections shots, in wide angle? Can’t get enough of them. And yes, Kodak Plus X is not coming back. But so happy I have plenty more in cold storage. It’s great stuff.

2 thoughts on “Wide Reflections

Leave a Reply

