Pan F Plus Revisited – Historic Lowell, Massachusetts

A crop from a frame- open window in one of the historic mill buildings.

A crop from a frame- open window in one of the historic mill buildings.

 

I shot Ilford Pan F Plus a while ago in 35mm. I may have even blogged about it. While I liked it, I developed it in HC-110, probably not the best developer for it. The film has insanely fine grain, and is maybe the last of the slower speed B&W films out there (ISO50). While I have yet to explore some of the more exotic developers and techniques, such as Rodinal and stand developing, this was certainly another job for trusty ol’ D-76. Took a couple of rolls of this gorgeous film, along with the Hasselblad kit, into historic downtown Lowell, MA, this holiday weekend. I shot exclusively with the 80mm CF Zeiss, back from a CLA at David Odess’ shop. The glass and its built-in shutter performed magnificently.

Vintage and thrift clothing abound in the various shops, walking from the Textile Museum into downtown.

Vintage and thrift clothing abound in the various shops, walking from the Textile Museum into downtown.

Rarely do I use filters with the Hasselblad. But, as the Heliopan  yellow and warming filters that I have are now permanently stuck on the dreaded 67mm to Bay 60 ring adaptors, I decided to use the yellow, as a change of pace. Really happy that I did.

A historin Lowell landmark- locally distributed Haffner's Gasoline. I think this is the first one- the sign has been there forever, and I have always wanted to make a good photograph of it.

A historic Lowell landmark- locally distributed Haffner’s Gasoline. I think this is the first one- the sign has been there forever, and I have always wanted to make a good photograph of it.

I’m going to be featuring the shots from this photowalk in the articles to come. There is so much to see and take in, even within a few blocks. The Hasselblad continues to amaze.

NOTE: About David Odess- a lot of Hasselblad folks grumble online that he is “expensive”. While I think having a Zeiss serviced by him every year might represent overkill, I think every 3-5 years makes good sense. As justification, not only are you getting glass serviced, essentially you are getting a shutter serviced as well, as the Compur shutter is built right into your Zeiss lens. And yes, it’s a lot of money to have him service your gear. But it is relative, when once considers that he is highly skilled, has the parts if needed (I had him replace the main spring, as part of the CLA), and is factory trained and certified by Hasselblad. While the folks at KEH do indeed service Hasselblad gear, they also service just about every brand they sell. Hasselblad is Mr. Odess’ specialty. He is great to deal with, and explains things extremely well. Cannot recommend him enough if you shoot Hasselblad. http://david-odess.com/

Leave a Reply

