Hasselblads For Sale (But, Not This One)

As I had my Hasselblad with me at Photographica, I decided to walk the show floor, and take a few shots. Some people stopped me in amazement, at seeing someone actually shooting with one. I don’t display this camera, I use it. others, several show attendees, and dealers, asked me if I would like to sell it. No chance. None! I bought it at Photographica 4 years ago. While it is a beast to carry and handhold, the new grip almost makes it feel light. And much easier for walking about.

I shot these with the new grip, wide strap, PME-45 prism, and trusty 80mm f/2.8 CF T* Planar. And yes, Kodak Tri-X, at ISO400. All exposures are at f/2.8, 1/60th sec., metered with the Light Meter app on my iPhone. In hindsight, I could have tried to hold steadier, and shot at 1/30th, The hall is dark! Developed with D-76.

 

img052

Hasselblads, and Speed Graphics, for sale! Dealer that sold the 500c/m to me 4 years ago can be seen to the far left.

Graflex, and more Speed Graphics. Large Format, anyone?

Graflex, and more Speed Graphics. Large Format, anyone?

The Hasselblad has this dreamy, yet crazy sharp look, particularly wide open. As the 80mm Planar is the fastest glass in the fleet, perfect for such dark environments. And, with people in the scene, the shots take on a mystical look, unlike any camera you’ll ever work with. It’s easy to see why Hasselblad attracts such a cult following.

Selling, and making new friends.

Selling, and making new friends.

It’s hard to see the Hasselblad leaving my hands this spring, summer, fall…NOT for sale!

Leave a Reply

