A Vintage Schwinn Bicycle, And Ilford Delta 100 Professional

Handlebars, And Speedometer/Odometer.

Handlebars, And Speedometer/Odometer.

 

For sharpness and freedom from grain, ILFORD DELTA 100 PROFESSIONAL is simply the best in its class – offering the photographer exceptionally fine grain and a level of sharpness rarely seen, resulting in outstanding clarity of detail and the most precise image rendition. -IlfordPhoto.com

I shot this roll of Delta 100 a year ago this September (9/3/12), in downtown Fitchburg. It sat in the refrigerator, unprocessed, all this time. Why I waited a year to develop it, I will never know. All I know is, I want some more. Lots and lots more. Here, a vintage Schwinn bicycle that I came across, parked in front of a vintage consignment shop. The rust and corrosion on the handlebars, brake levers, and the chrome of the speedometer/odometer are all exactly as I remember them. The shadow detail, and the texture, border on perfection.

The film is unlike any B&W wilm. and in 35mm format, looks like large format in the sharpness, detail, and clarity. It takes advantage of the newer tabular grain structures. Photographers online grumble about the contrast, but I think it is superb. I developed in D-76, 1:1, 11 minutes at 68 degrees F. Like all film, play. Myself? I can’t see me making any changes in time or temperature.

The camera used here was the Nikon FE-2, and the lens the 35mm AI Nikkor.

img720

Front end, showing Schwinn nameplate and reflector.

This film is optimized to be shot at ISO100, as metered here. But can also be shot up to ISO200. But, with grain this fine, not sure why anyone would want to. Could be a fun experiment.

img721

This would be fantastic fine art film, or for natural light portraiture. Or, for maybe, any subject. It is that beautiful. I love Tri-X, and Kodak’s T-Max films. But, this may be my new “go-to” film, certainly for outdoors. Like any film, it certainly is not perfect. But, pretty close. When I opened the tank, I knew I came across magic. This past weekend, I tried in vain to find any flaws.

Ilford 100 Delta Professional is the world’s sharpest ISO 100 speed black-and-white camera film. This exceptional film uses the unique Ilford core-shell crystal technology. 100 Delta Professional’s emulsion allows levels of enlargement never before possible without loss of fine detail. -bhphotovideo.com

108310

But some. Buy lots.

Leave a Reply

