Courtyard- The F3 Comes Back, The F3 Goes Back Out

I just got my Nikon F3 back in from service. Frustratingly, the shutter I had asked to be replaced was only serviced. Twice Nikon USA had attempted to adjust the tension of the shutter brake mechanism. The last time, they told me that the shutter itself would need replacement. Nikon USA itself no longer stocks brand new F3 shutters, so I looked everywhere. Including Nikon Japan, and many, many independent service organizations. I found one in California that stocks them. When I sent a detailed explanation to these folks, telling them what needed to be done, they had the camera for about a month. When it came back, I was told, yes, the tensioners were once again adjusted. And, I was charged the same amount of money as the original service quote to replace the shutter. Back it went, out to California, hopefully, not to be gone again for another month. Based on these shots, it does appear that the shutter capping issue was kept at bay. I shot them with Portra 400, on a fairly bright day, so as to use higher shutter speeds.

This stone wall is in the courtyard at my office.

This stone wall is in the courtyard at my office.

The Nikkor 50mm f/1.4 Ai is one of my favorite lenses, along with the 50 1.8, which is maybe more contrasty and colorful. However, they are both spectacular pieces of glass.

A test shot, which came out pretty good, actually.

A test shot, which came out pretty good, actually.

So, am I nuts for wanting to have the shutter replaced? I don’t think so. If I was to accept that the repairs they made would solve the problem, I’d only have a 90 day warranty on the work. By sending it back in, and having the shutter replaced with a bad new one, the F3 will likely outlive me. I think it is worth having the camera out of commission a while longer.

The 50 f/1.4 Nikkor has insane bokeh wide open.

The 50 f/1.4 Nikkor has insane bokeh wide open.

Not like there aren’t plenty of other photographic tools to stay busy with, but the F3 really is special. it will be well worth the wait, to get it done right. That’s all I asked for in the first place.

Leave a Reply

