Christmas In Polacolor

About 2 years ago, I attempted a little shot of a Christmas Tree ornament that my son made, with an early sheet of Impossible Project’s PX100 Silver Shade B&W instant film. Grainy, blotchy, and requiring all kinds of tricks just to take a shot, it was, nonetheless, an instant print. And brought these decades old cameras whirring back to life, with their integral puls battery packs. Necessary to activate a 12,000 RPM electric motor for 7 revolutions. Without any Polaroid SX-70 experience, I was not accustomed to the organic quirks and personality of the camera format. Yes, by nature, these are supposed to be imperfect photos- this is, after all, SX-70 photography. But still, I had a very hard time accepting the quality of the emulsion. For film rated at ASA/ISO 100? Useable at best. I took with my first SX-70, the Sonar, but used manual focus, due to the closeness to the subject.

Always smiling...

Always smiling…

What a difference two years makes. I had heard great things about Impossible’s new PX70 Color Protection film. Having never tried color SX-70 photography, the timing looked good. To say this film is beautiful is an understatement. I’ve since added another Sonar, and an Alpha 1. More quirks and technical challenges. but nothing a good CLA could not take care of. This film just pops indoors. As mentioned in an earlier blog entry, a blue filter over the lens and electric eye may not hurt, as the film will look somewhat yellow/greenish at indoor color temperatures. A couple of things help here- as I’ve done, swap out some of your traditional tungsten light bulbs to the newer color daylight CFL. This film is daylight balanced. Also, you can always add a blue filter in Photoshop during your post. One of the shots from the first pack, with the Alpha 1-

More reason to smile. PX70 Color Protection

More reason to smile. PX70 Color Protection

The gingerbread man is beaming. So am I. Merry Christmas, 2012.

9 thoughts on “Christmas In Polacolor

      • For the most part, I do. While Impossible has truly improved the opacification layer, they still are not quite there yet. As evident in the long development times. I still cautiously flip it over, as even if I kept the print right side up, 30-45 minutes is still a long time to watch opacification clear, and the print to emerge. really wish Fuji could help them somehow with this.

      • Thanks Arthur. I’ll keep that in mind. But it seems like they’re really on the right track and it won’t take them many iterations anymore to fix this.

      • I think fixing the emulsion blotchiness (uneven development), which is undeniably still there, and improving the opacification layer, remain their biggect challenges. But they truly have come a long way in two years. The first films from them were truly awful. The Color Protection is beautiful material.

      • Oh yes. I remember the first ever black and white film from them (I won a pack from the FPP back then). I never touched their films after that. Until now.

      • They could really market the materials as ‘experimental”, or “artistic’, for a relatively short window. It simply had to get better. Still not there yet, but I really do think this is exciting material. As I told the folks at Impossible, one of the best things in analog instant photography since the introduction of the SX-70.

Leave a Reply

