Shooting Wide

I am having a blast with my new Nikkor 28mm AiS. While it is claimed by Nikon that the lens has a closest focusing distance of one foot, I think this is one of those “your mileage may vary” cases, as I was able to achieve proper focus at a guesstimate of about 7 inches or so. It can be incredibly close to the subject.

This has been a lot of fun, as it is retraining my eye to use a wide-angle not just for sweeping panoramic shots, but for everyday, mundane objects as well. Thinking it might also be a blast of a lens to use for environmental portraiture someday. Here are some results, with the F3, and Ilford FP4 Plus. And, a “decisive moment” street shot thrown in for good measure. All taken on Memorial Day, downtown Worcester, MA-

Favorite shot of the day- parking meter from about 7 inches away.

Favorite shot of the day- parking meter from about 7 inches away.

They still make these?

They still make these things?

The 28mm has amazing detail resolution, and texture.

The Nikkor 28mm has amazing detail resolution, and texture.

Thankful I chose a slow shutter speed, as someone scrambled across the frame. Kept the background sharp, as the pedestrian moved fast enough to give a sense of motion.

Thankful I chose a slow shutter speed here, as someone scrambled across the frame. Kept the background sharp, as the pedestrian moved fast enough to give a sense of motion.

2 thoughts on “Shooting Wide

  1. I have the 24mm f2 AI for my EM, but shooting wide is still something I’m trying to learn. Good results seem to be more of a hit or miss at this point than with a 50. All part of the fun. (-:

    • Nice! Enjoy that glass. I am trying more and more now to isolate subjects going wide, as opposed to sweeping landscapes. Although, nice to have that option. Thank you for stopping by my blog! -Arthur

Leave a Reply

