“I Really Miss That Sound!”- Photojournalist For A Day

Last month, on the way home from Photographica, I stopped off at a Tea Party Rally. I figured it would be a great way to practice some photojournalism, old school, with the F3HP, motor drive, TriX, and a kit full of fast Nikkor glass. Good call.

A local newspaper photographer, shooting digital, came up to me, hearing the MD-4 and shutter, and said “I miss that sound!” To which I responded, “I can’t get enough of it”.

The supporters were polite, well-behaved, and demonstrating for what they feel was right. Agree or disagree, well, I guess, neither, as a photojournalist for a few hours. The F3 was the hit of the Party.

This was a blast to photograph. High contrast B&W seemed to lend itself perfectly to the event. I also shot some color in the F2, with not nearly the same impact visually. Here are a few frames from the couple of rolls I shot. My Flickr stream will have a lot more-

Tea Party Representative From Brandeis University

Tea Party Representative From Brandeis University

Tea Party Supporter

Tea Party Supporter

Hoping For Change

Hoping For Change

WCRN News Director Hank Stoltz on the left, engaged in conversation.

WCRN News Director Hank Stoltz on the left, engaged in conversation.

Leave a Reply

