Back To School

I find myself returning to spots I have photographed so many times, those that are familiar. As I recover from surgery, walking my college campus can be a very relaxing, exercise filled activity.Took these shots at Fitchburg State University, in Fitchburg, MA, with the Canon Rebel G, 50mm f/1.8 EF lens, red Hoya filter, and Kodak TMax 100 film. There is a lot of work being done on the campus, including a new science building, and an addition to the Hammond Building, which is the campus center/library.

As mentioned in this blog a few months ago, colleges and universities can be great places to photograph, and even great places to talk film photography and darkroom technique, if your there is a darkroom/ photo lab there. The grounds can also be quite scenic and photogenic.

Every time I visit this campus, it is wonderful. In part because it is my alma mater, filled with memories to last a lifetime. In a future blog, I will recount a visit to a different campus, one that was far from friendly and memorable. Well, memorable for far different reasons.

Making My Way Towards The Campus

Making My Way Towards The Campus.

View Towards The Quad And Power Plant

View Towards The Quad And Power Plant.

Walking To The Hammond Building

Walking To The Hammond Building.

Hammond Building To The Left, Thompson Hall To The Right

Hammond Building To The Left, Thompson Hall To The Right. Sundial And Alumni Courtyard In The Middle.

3 thoughts on “Back To School

  1. These photos of Fitchburg state bring back some good memories. Was there numerous times visiting a girlfriend of mine back in 1986-1988 while I attended umass. We certainly had some wild times!

Leave a Reply

