The Thomas Card Camera Collection, On Display At WPI, Worcester, MA

Col. Thomas Card was a freshman at Worcester Polytechnic Institute from 1916-1917. He didn’t finish his degree at WPI, but many years later, partly due to his love and fondness for the school, donated his large camera and photographic equipment collection to it in 1977.

My son and I went to a concert there, as detailed earlier in this blog. On the way back to the car, we found a postcard, featuring the location and times of the display. On our second week of vacation this summer, we had the pleasure of seeing the display. It is sheer nirvana for a vintage camera and film photography buff. Here are a few shots- taken with the Nikon N80, with a 50mm f/1.8D, wide open at f/1.8, no flash, and shot with TriX 400 at box speed, and developed in HC-110. Thrilled with the results. The display runs through September 14th. If you are in the area, make sure you visit WPI. Cannot recommend this exhibit enough-

Vintage Box Camera With Voightlander Lenses

Vintage Box Camera With Voigtlander Lenses

Filter Kits

Filter Kits

Honeywell Tilt A Mite Flash With Accessories

Honeywell Tilt A Mite Flash With Accessories

Lens Cleaning And Flash Accessories- Note The Kodak Lens Cleaning Fluid, Sylvania Bulb Packaging

Lens Cleaning And Flash Accessories- Note The Kodak Lens Cleaning Fluid, Sylvania Bulb Packaging, Gossen Light Meter Box In Lower Right

Nikor Developing Tank With Original Instructions- Being New To Film Developing, This Was A Thrill To See.

Nikor Developing Tank With Original Instructions- Being New To Film Developing, This Was A Thrill To See.

2 thoughts on “The Thomas Card Camera Collection, On Display At WPI, Worcester, MA

  1. Hello,

    I am so happy that you enjoyed the exhibit that I curated. You took beautiful photos of the exhibit; I hope you don’t mind me forwarding this to the WPI archives! My next project is getting photos of the items on an virtual gallery. I had no idea how much I loved antique cameras until I worked with this collection. Now I have started my own collection thanks to Thomas Card (and WPI).

    Thank you for coming!
    Rachel Katz

    • You are so welcome, Rachel. Not at all- please do- my pleasure. And thanks for stopping by the blog!

      I have too many cameras to count- seriously, maybe 30. And I shoot with all of them.

      -Arthur

Leave a Reply

