The Nikkor 135mm f/2.8 Ai

Nikkor 135mm f/2.8 Ai

Nikkor 135mm f/2.8 Ai

I basically obtained this lens a couple of years ago as a “throw in” when I purchased the Nikon F3HP system. It was undoubtedly the best throw in I have ever received, Sharp, contrasty, and with excellent flare control, the Nikkor 135mm f/2.8 Ai is a beautiful telephoto lens, well suited for action, and portraiture. Maybe my only complaint is that it is, of course, just a tad “slower’ than the 105 f/2.5, which I also have in my kit. But, it would have to have been much larger to be such an aperture. f/2.8 is, after all, about as fast as today’s modern zooms can be built at. And, as this is not a zoom, I am guessing it to be sharper, and with more contrast, than, say, my 70-200mm f/2.8. The coating is amazing. Nikon, of course, was known for great glass, and maybe still is today. But this one really holds up nicely as a true modern-day classic. a nice touch- the slide out built-in lens hood. No plastic on this bad boy- metal all the way. This lens can be found at very reasonable prices out on the used market. The following shots, from the Johnsonia Benefit Concert in Fitchburg earlier this month, were all taken with the 135.

I could have, and should have, got up closer. Still, the 135 let me get up close, and still show detail of the stage.

I could have, and should have, got up closer. Still, the 135 let me get up close, and still show detail of the stage.

The relatively light barrel of the 135 allows for easy portrait orientation, especially with a motor drive, such as the MD-4 added to the F3.

The relatively light barrel of the 135 allows for easy portrait orientation, especially with a motor drive, such as the MD-4 added to the F3.

I saw quite a bit of live music this summer- this was easily my favorite, and the money all went to help residents burnt out of their homes.

I saw quite a bit of live music this summer- this was easily my favorite, and the money all went to help residents burnt out of their homes.

The Nikkor 135mm is a must have for a Nikon 35mm film kit.

The Nikkor 135mm is a must have for a Nikon 35mm film kit.

2 thoughts on “The Nikkor 135mm f/2.8 Ai

  1. “f/2.8 is, after all, about as fast as today’s modern zooms can be built at. ”

    Actually, Zuiko zoom lenses made for Olympus FourThrids system have constant aperture of f/2.0

Leave a Reply

