Dodge Park

Established in 1889 by noted inventor and philanthropist Thomas Dodge, Dodge Park in Worcester, MA is a cozy 13 acre park, which is now part of the City of Worcester’s Parks and Recreation Department. As the area was ravaged by the Japanese Longhorn Beetle, it is amazing that as many trees were ripped down, how thick the tree cover still is. This continues to be a favorite photographic spot. Once again, Tri-X, and D-76 here-

Stone Walking Bridge, Dodge Park, From Late 1800's.

Stone Walking Bridge, Dodge Park, From Late 1800's.

Down The Trail...

Down The Trail...

Wooden Bridge

Wooden Bridge

5 thoughts on “Dodge Park

  1. Arthur, you strike me as the perfect candidate for large format photography. No offense to your 35mm Nikons, but I imagine that all these would be even better on sheet film (or at least a Hassy). With all your love of landscape and architecture shots, I think the larger your film format, the better.

    That said, it is sort of a different world, and something you can’t just jump into in five minutes.

    • I hear you, Dan. I do a lot of candid portraiture of my 7 year old son, most of which gets unseen by the public, so as to protect his privacy. I like handholding, and am not a big tripod fan, at all. I do have the Hasselblad 500cm, but have only take it out once this year. I have some rolls of TMax 100 in the 120 format in the fridge, but have not yet practiced loading 120 on the Omega universal reels. I might sacrafice a roll to practice. If I someday go 4×5, would love to go the Mike Raso Speed Graphic route, and go Polaroid back.

  2. Very nice and interesting post Arthur. Thanks for the great shots and the heads up about the park.

    James

  3. 120 is easy for loading! Much shorter and I find it so simple, no need to cut anything or pry open cans. Just break the paper with your fingernail, unroll a bit to find the start of the film, unroll that to the tape, pull the film off the tape, load. There are no sprocket holes so I find, if your reels have ball bearings, that it is easier to load without the ball bearings so I popped them out of my Paterson reels and in fact I find they aren’t needed for 35mm either so I popped them out of all my reels.

    120 is a bit wasteful of developer since it is the same amount of film as 135mm but you need twice as much in your tank unless you try and load two 120 films per reel which I’ve never been able to get to work. HC-110 is so cheap that I use it one shot anyways but for C-41 color I always re-use the developer (otherwise it would be too expensive) 25 times.

Leave a Reply

