More Musicality- Thoughts On Film Scanning

I loved this set of exposures from the Massachusetts Symphony Orchestra’s opening at Institute Park in Worcester, MA so much, that I have been scanning virtually non-stop. That, along with my personal/family scans, and the pace of developing 2 rolls/night a couple of weeks ago, and well, there simply are not enough hours in the day.

The scanner I use is the Epson Perfection V500 Photo Scanner. Early on after buying the scanner, I struggled to use the somewhat flimsy plastic negative trays. After consulting with the owner of my local camera shop, he claims to get much sharper scans with his V700 by using a plate of Anti-Newton Ring (ANR) glass over the negative, while the emulsion side lays flat on the scanning bed. I love this method, as I have yet to experience the Newton Ring phenomenon. I have looked at the holders that The Lomographic Society offers, and while they look excellent, they are pricey for what they are. There are also 3rd party solutions which, quite honestly, are serious overkill, and also way overpriced. The ANR glass method is a preferred one used by many hybrid workflow photographers, and it is very easy in use. Just remember to “flip horizontally” in Photoshop after your scan, so your image is mirrored as to the standing axis, or in other words, so it is not backwards!

Here, I promise, are the last of these scans. 100 different photographers will use 100 different scanning methods (wet, oil, drum scans, you name it). This simple approach works for me-

Great Female Vocalist, Warming Up Her Pipes Before The National Anthem

Great Female Vocalist Jane Shivick, Warming Up Her Pipes Before The National Anthem

Still Bright Enough Before Sunset To Wear Shades- And Shoot 400 Speed Tri-X.

Still Bright Enough Before Sunset To Wear Shades- And Shoot 400 Speed Tri-X.

Vocalist Richard Monroe

Vocalist Richard Monroe

4 thoughts on “More Musicality- Thoughts On Film Scanning

  1. Interesting. Are there any methods you are using to cut down on dust, or are you just getting lucky with that?

    I’d love to try the ANR glass method, but since my scans are acceptable right now, it’s low on the list of priorities. Much higher is building up some solutions to make darkroom printing go faster.

  2. Thanks, Dan- I have been VERY lucky, without any dust or scratches so far, since doing my own developing. The ones the lab did when I had them sent out, I always had to use dust filters, etc. Not to mention negatives with the occasional scratch. The ones I do myself, by comparison, seem to come out very clean. Occasionally I wipe the flatbed down with an anti static cloth, just as general maintenance. But I like that I can now scan my own stuff, and not have to use dust filters, etc, which seem to cut down on overall resolution of the final scans. Highly recommend the ANR glass method. Yes, it can be time consuming to marquee the frames, and scan one exposure at a time. But, for my workflow, it does the trick. -Aathaaa

  3. Arthur,
    Might you be attending the Holiday Pops Concert at Mechanics Hall this coming Saturday evening at 8pm? I rarely receive pics from my work at this concert with the symphony and collegiate choruses. Just curious if you’d be interested in taking some pics of me?
    Jane Shivick

Leave a Reply

