Developing Like It’s Going Out Of Style- OK, Now Where Do I Keep These Things?

Or, did it ever go out of style? I literally ran out of PrintFile sleeves last night, after developing and archiving two more rolls. Very odd that the pages hold 35 exposures (7 rows of 5 exposure strips), yet, we’re basically dealing with 24 or 36 exposure rolls. Great way to sell more packs of PrintFiles! Seriously, these materials have been around forever, and is a time proven way to protect your negatives. They even make them for 4X5 and 5×7 large format shooters, and slide buffs!

Found this shot in a recent PrintFile sleeve- Clinton, MA, downtown. A nice little town it is. Was trying to test exposure here, but thought I’d post it up-

Clinton, Massachusetts, Downtown, 6/12/11 Nikon N80, Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D, Kodak TriX, D-76

Clinton, Massachusetts, Downtown, 6/12/11 Nikon N80, Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D, Kodak TriX, D-76

Even “throwaway” shots can come back, and find use. Keep them all in PrintFile’s, and label meticulously, using “analog” EXIF data on the sheets. Makes things very easy to find. I use a red Sharpie, and also mark right on the sheet exposures I have already scanned, and those special “money” shots. Back to the camera shop today for more PrintFiles.

3 thoughts on “Developing Like It’s Going Out Of Style- OK, Now Where Do I Keep These Things?

  1. There are 6×6 negative holders from PrintFile that don’t have a contact sheet. The 7×5 size is more popular because you can use them for an 8×10″ contact sheet. Since I don’t really make contact sheets I just buy the 6×6 ones now.

    Harry

  2. Sorry, I guess my 6×6 comment was confusing. I don’t mean I put 35mm negatives in sheets for 120 film 6×6… I mean there are sheets which hold 6 rows of 6-35mm negatives for a total of 36, rather than the 7 rows of 5-35mm negative sheets which hold 35 total. The 6 rows of 6 like these at B&H assuming this link is useful:
    http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/42988-REG/Print_File_PF356HB25_Archival_Storage_Page_for.html

    I also use Print File pages for my 120 film and my Fuji Instant film plus prints.

Leave a Reply

