Shooting Polaroid In The Dead Of Winter….Brrrrr…….

It was SO cold out there today. I brought the 230 to Elm Park in Worcester, MA. After helping a couple of college students take the obligitory point and shoot snapshots of themselves, no doubt for their Facebook pages, I set out to get some nice shots. It was really, really cold. And while the thermometer said 25 degrees, with the wind, it felt much colder. I used the #516 Cloud Filter, and long development times of 3 minutes.  Maybe some readers of this blog have some tips as to black and white development times in freezing cold weather, but as the times and temperatures on the Fuji films do not spec out how to photograph under these conditions, this was just a guessed duration.

Elm Park, Worcester, MA Polaroid 230, #516 Cloud Filter, Fuji FP-3000B Film, 3 Minutes Development Time

Elm Park, Worcester, MA Polaroid 230, #516 Cloud Filter, Fuji FP-3000B Film, 3 Minutes Development Time.

Same subject, different perspective. And, same development technique, in the cold.

Same subject, different perspective. And, same development technique, in the cold.

11 thoughts on “Shooting Polaroid In The Dead Of Winter….Brrrrr…….

    • Harry, it was so cold out there today. I thought about shooting color and bringing the Cold Clip, but I don’t think that would have worked so well, given the conditions.

      I shoot a lot of color of my son, and hope to talk color in a future entry.

      -A

      • Again, this is probably meant for a future blog entry but in case you’re by the computer today… is there any chance that 1984 expired 669 (80 ISO) film would still be any good? Probably not worth the shipping but I though I’d ask if you have experience with such old stuff. I have a good stash of Fuji Instant already.

      • Harry- stranger things have happened. For the most part, old color film is cooked at that stage. B&W sometimes amazes. Usually, what happens is the chemicals contained in the pod dry up. I have actually, on YouTube, seen people shoot old expired Polaroid roll films with the Model 95, etc, and actually yield decent images. I wouldn’t buy it- 669 of course is a Polacolor medium speed/contrast film, so I wouldn’t expect miracles, or, any images at all.

        Fuji instant films rock!

        A

      • They are sealed and it says they were in a cool basement. I’ve seen flickr images taken with 1991 expired 669 and they came out, a bit dreamy but not blank. The open for 5-10 years pack that came in my NPC Land Polaroid back was all dried out but still in the sealed packs I wonder if they’d be any good??? Hmm… starting price is $0.99 and I’ve already won something from them so I can probably combine shipping so it isn’t any more. Tempting…

  1. I like color for family shots too. I don’t know if you’ve checked out my blog recently. Not much writing lately, just Fuji instant pictures.

    The color film needs over 120s at room temperature (20C or less) here at the moment so I don’t know if it would work at all outside! The time given for 10C (Canadian metric here) is already 270s so I don’t know if I could wait for -10C let alone -20C. If it is ‘just’ another 150s for 420s (7 minutes) then perhaps it would be OK. I guess it might be worth a try.

    Another cold whether factor is that the ISO rating is given for 20C isn’t it? Is it lower or higher at lower temperatures? Some films have better reciprocity characteristics at low temperatures but I’m not sure. Again worth an experiment I guess.

  2. Pingback: Pictures of the week | Worcester

  3. Hello Mr. Polaroid, I’m going on a trip to Boston on the 17th through the 26th and wanted to know if you have any new/other tips/recommendations for shooting fp-3000b at slightly above freezing temperatures. Do I need to worry about the film being ruined even unexposed? I just don’t want anything really bad to happen to my film because it’s sort of expensive and God knows I’m not making any money at 17 OoO Thanks!

Leave a Reply

